Moose’s Lodge

Raising a Moose

Domestic Mommy Moose September 2, 2008

Filed under: family,Moose — valben @ 2:45 pm
Tags: , ,

This weekend I realized how different my sister and I are in our “mommy” styles.  My sister is a super-mom.  My nephew, Zach is 8 months old.  My sister has been working full-time for the last 5 months, and she is still able to pump and supply him with breastmilk.  She has dinner on the table every night, makes lunch for her hubby, and keeps her house immaculate (although she thinks otherwise).  She keeps Zach dressed to the nines, right down to his little matching shoes and socks.  When we went out to lunch with the family, she busted out the diaper bag which contained a bottle of formula ready to go, baby food, snacks, a snack mat, diapers, toys, and tons of other baby necessities.  She started planning their first birthday party two weeks after Zach was born.

On the other hand, I stay at home, yet struggle with the “what’s for dinner” dilemma weekly, and typically end up whipping something up right as hubby gets home.  Most days, my house looks like a tornado ripped through it.  Moose rarely gets 3 square meals of baby food – he still gets 90% of his nutrition from me.  The Moose hasn’t had anything on his feet (socks or shoes) since before Mother’s day.  I’m not even sure where my diaper bag is.  I have a traveling diaper cover thing that sometimes has diapers in it.  I am that mom that has had to buy diapers bc I didn’t have extras in my car.  I will sometimes remember to throw in a bib, spoon, and baby food into my purse before we go out to eat.  And birthday planning?!? Yeah, there’s a reason we are having a combined party for the boys…

A good friend of mine was once told she shouldn’t worry about having kids because she is not the domestic type.  But seriously, who is?  Compared to my sister, I most definitely am not.  But we are both doing a great job raising our kids – they are happy, healthy and learning every day.  If only “domestic” types had babies, ther world population wouldn’t be rising exponentially.  My mom said it doesn’t matter what you are like before kids, if you are a good person, your mother instincts will kick in.  And I think that is true.  I think my friend is going to be an AWESOME mom.  She is great with Moose and every other kid I have ever seen her interact with.

I don’t think being “domestic” has anything to do with being a good mom.  Sure, I would love to be a Martha Stewart-type mom, but I don’t have the energy for it.  I love my TV and computer too much for that.  I type this as Moose is screaming for me to finish… oh well..

 

4 Responses to “Domestic Mommy Moose”

  1. avill7 Says:

    Wow your sister has her mommyness down, huh? It gives me a headache to think about everything she does – ha ha!

    Yeah, I definitely fall in the “whatever works today” category of domestic mamas. I agree that it doesn’t mean one way is better than the other. It’s all about what makes each family happy!

  2. Rebecca Says:

    I used to be so organized in my pre-baby life, but now life feels so messy. I’m not a betty-crocker-homemaker either and I don’t know how some moms pull off that so-together thing. My family lives on spaghetti and spam. Big girl underwear are sitting on the end table. And my hair is unwashed.

  3. valben Says:

    But your kids are so stinkin’ cute, I bet you don’t notice the mess! My new theory is, we will have the rest of our lives to have clean houses. I would choose playing with Jack over cleaning any day!!

  4. zee (the sister) Says:

    Hi baby sister… i am flattered by your compliments, but you don’t give yourself any credit at all! YOU are the one who introduced me to all those neat mommy necessaties: the hooter hider YOU bought me, the ‘hey girl hey’ breast pump attachments, the preggie pops, etc. I guess i am a little anally retentive with my cleaning-of -the -house and always having big boy dressed down to the matching socks but i can’t help that. Trust me, my house is not and unfortuneately will not go back to the ‘model home design’ that i was used to before, BUT i know zack is worth it! My formal living room and formal dining room and kitchen i keep presentable, but upstairs in the loft (biggest room in the house) and our bedroom is a whole new world! My bed is zack’s playground. (you cant even see my side tables anymore due to his toys. Looking over at my dresser, i can see 2 different Baby einstein toys and a fisher price drum toy on top of some books and magazines. Anyhow, my point is, i envy the fact you get to be a SAHM. i miss my little guy everyday. i came home late tonite cause i had to cover for a nurse who works till 8 on wednesdays, and the minute i came home, and came up the stairs, zack had his head cocked sideways trying to see me while he was sitting on mark’s lap at the desk-then gave me the biggest smile and giggle. These little guys are so wonderful. I cant imagine what life would have been like with out them…so , yeah, i am still planning our boys’ birthday party. ARE we set on rainforest? or did you get a chance to view baby einstein?


Leave a Reply

